- October 16, 2014
- Posted by: admin
- Categories: blog, Driver Info, Points Drivers, RMV Info
Do you have a suspended driver’s license? This is never a good situation. You are looking at fees and an increase in your car insurance rates. Stop by our office Western Auto Insurance to review your situation.
Once a suspension period has ended, or the reason for the suspension has been resolved, you will have to pay a reinstatement fee to get your driver’s license back and you may have to meet additional reinstatement requirements, depending on the reason for suspension.
About Your Suspended License in MA
In Massachusetts, violations resulting in driver’s license suspension generally fall under the following categories:
1. Minor (civil) traffic violations.
2. Serious (criminal) traffic violations.
3. An accumulation of offenses.
4. Accidents for which you are found responsible.
5. Other criminal violations, such as conviction for a drug offense or failure to pay income tax.
NOTE: Violations occurring out of state are also reason for a suspension in MA.
In addition to mandatory driver’s license suspensions, the registrar can choose to suspend your driver’s license if you:
• Are considered a threat.
• Have operated a vehicle improperly.
• Have committed driver’s license fraud, even if you aren’t convicted in court.
• Have failed to pay required child support.
Suspensions for Multiple Violations
Several mandatory suspensions are based on the accumulation of multiple traffic violations including:
3 speeding tickets within 12 months – 30 day suspension.
7 moving violations within 3 years – 60 day suspension.
Habitual offender (3 major violations or 12 violations within 5 years) – 4 year suspension.
You will have to re-apply for a driver’s license after a revocation, which means taking all the exams and paying the applicable fees. Violations result in points against your license.
Driver Improvement Courses
You will have to complete a driver re-training course if you accrue 3 moving violations in 24 months.
You will be notified and given 90 days to complete this training. If you do not complete the course within 90 days, your driver’s license will be suspended until you do complete it.
Drivers between 16 ½ and 18 years old are considered Junior Operators in Massachusetts. Junior Operators have additional driving rules and restrictions, and violating those rules will result in suspensions.
In addition to mandatory classes, suspensions are longer and reinstatement fees are higher for Junior Operators than for other drivers. The RMV provides a full list of violations and penalties as they relate to teen drivers.
OUI Suspensions in Massachusetts
Operating under the influence (OUI), also known as driving under the influence (DUI), results in mandatory driver’s license suspension.
Your driver’s license will be suspended immediately if you:
1. Fail a blood alcohol content (BAC) test with a BAC of – 0.08% or higher if you are 21 years old or older or – 0.02% if you are under 21 years old.
2. Refuse to take a test for BAC.
NOTE: Your driver’s license can be suspended under the OUI laws by the RMV for illegal, prescription or non-prescription (OTC) drugs.
MA Suspension Hearings and Appeals
If your Massachusetts driver’s license is suspended by the RMV, you have the right to have a hearing with an RMV Hearings Officer.
Your notice of suspension may list a scheduled hearing. If a hearing has not been scheduled and you want one, they are held on a walk-in basis. If you have questions about hearings, check your suspension notice or contact the RMV at (800) 858-3926
Massachusetts Hardship License
If your Massachusetts driver’s license has been suspended, you may be able to apply for a hardship license that allows you to drive with restrictions.
Drivers must meet all criteria and bring all required documents to an RMV hearing in order to apply for a MA hardship license. The RMV provides a list of forms that show all the criteria you must meet to apply, based on the type of offense.
Reinstate Your MA Suspended License
In order to reinstate your MA driver’s license, you will have to pay a fee.
In some cases, you may also need to apply for a new MA license, which means taking the written and road tests.
If your driver’s license was suspended for any of the following reasons, you MUST see a hearings officer before your driver’s license can be reinstated:
• Vehicular homicide or manslaughter.
• Habitual traffic offender that includes an OUI.
MA License Reinstatement Fees
Reinstatement fees in Massachusetts range from $100 to $1,200, depending on the offense leading to the suspension.
Reinstatement fees for Junior Operators are higher than for those drivers over 21 years old.
Payment of Fees
In Person – To pay your reinstatement fees in person, go to the RMV.
Each branch office accepts different forms of payment, so be sure to check with your local office for payment options.
By Mail – To pay your reinstatement fees by mail, send a check made payable to “MassDOT” to:
Driver Control/ Court Records
Registry of Motor Vehicles
P.O. Box 55896
Boston, MA 02205-5896
By Phone – To pay reinstatement fees by phone with a major credit card, call:
• (857) 368-8000 from MA area codes 339, 617, 781, or 857, and from outside of MA.
• 800-858-3926 from MA area codes not listed above.
Good luck! call us if you have any questions about your suspended driver’s license.
Indian Orchard (413) 543-3800 – Forest park (413) 781-3800