- September 13, 2014
- Posted by: admin
- Categories: blog, Insurance Claims, Insurance Coverages
Part 1 Bodily Injury to Others
This important part is required by law and is part of the Massachusetts minimum State requirements. When you are buying Mass Insurance this is the one part where the level of coverage cannot be changed.
This part pays for damages – like medical expenses, pain and suffering – to anyone injured or killed by your car only in an accident that occurs in Massachusetts, up to a basic limit of $20,000 per person and $40,000 per accident.
Injuries to the driver or passengers in your car are not covered under this Part. The driver is covered under Part 2 – PIP.
Your passengers are covered under Part 5. If you drive outside of Massachusetts or in places where the public has no right of access this part will protect you in such situations.
Mass auto policy Part 1 Bodily injury to Others is required by law. It is possible you could be sued for much more than the required ($20,000/ $40,000) limits for Bodily Injury to Others therefore buying higher limits under the Optional Bodily Injury to Others (Part 5) coverage may protect you from large losses. The limits you select will depend on your personal financial situation; limits of $100,000 per person, $300,000 per car accident are commonly selected for Parts 3, 5 and 12.
Any questions on this part please call my office for assistance
Indian Orchard (413) 543-3800 – Forest Park (413) 781-3800